Lighting Wiring

Apologies if this is covered somewhere I am missing...

I've been using VWX Spotlight for many years, but lately moved into architectural lighting design (using Revit heavily).

Is there a goto workflow in Vectorworks (using cable tools, or electrical tools) to represent simple wiring on lights for circuiting?

In Revit this is so simple with wiring tools (select lights, create circuit, and auto add wires as arced lines). The wires event move with the lights when re-aligning.

We are not in need of any other cable information on lights (the electrical contractor handles all that), this is purely for design representation like in attached screenshot (from Revit)

Screenshot 2024-01-10 at 2.18.24 PM.png

• Like 3
  • Vectorworks, Inc Employee

Here's place to start. It's really basic at the moment. https://app-help.vectorworks.net/2024/eng/VW2024_Guide/MEP/Creating_a_circuit.htm#h

I think these are the right steps, but I've not tested step by step.

1. Open your Vectorworks project and navigate to the desired drawing where you want to create the room electrical layout.
  2. Make sure you have the MEP toolset activated. You can do this by going to the top menu and selecting "Tools" > "Workspaces" > "Tool Sets" > "MEP".
  3. In the toolset, locate and select the Circuiting tool. It should be represented by an icon resembling a plug and socket.
  4. Click on the first electrical device or outlet that you want to include in the room electrical layout. This will be the starting point of your circuit.
  5. If the selected device is a custom symbol without a Circuiting record attached, the tool will automatically attach the record to the symbol. You may need to specify whether it is an electrical or communication circuit.
  6. The Circuiting Tool dialog box will open, allowing you to enter information for the circuit and the objects within the circuit. Fill in the desired information, such as circuit number, phase, and any other relevant details.