Gert Sanner

Flowcharts for Speakers

Hi there,

I am in the process of getting Vectorworks for myself. I am a Sound-engineer and wonder if I can use the Cable Tool in VW Spotlight to do Speaker cable Flowcharts.

In an Ideal world I would like to run it like the lampies. I am not deep enough into it yet to figure that out myself. 

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Edited by Gert Sanner

I'm a lighting designer, so I am unfamiliar with Speaker cable flow charts and lampies.  Can you send me file and/or a description of what you want to do?  I am quite familiar with the cable tools.

Sam

Samuel L. Jones
Developer of AutoPlot Tools for SpotLight
E-mail: sjones@autoplotvw.com

Hi Sam,

Thank you for looking into this. I would like to generate plans that look like the picture. Obviously a lot more accurate and detailed.

I hope the Idea is obvious?

Flowchart.jpg

The quick answer is yes.  The long answer is a bunch of questions

You will have to draw the paths yourself, but you can get a lot of information from them.  Given that you have to draw the paths yourself, what information would you want?  Typically,  stage electricians doing lighting want:

How long is the cable path?

What cable inventory is needed?

How much of what needs to pulled from the  shop or rented?

What is the voltage drop?

As for drawing the paths, Vectorworks has a lot of good tools to make this easy and accurate.  Let me know if you have any other questions.

HTH,

Sam

Samuel L. Jones
Developer of AutoPlot Tools for SpotLight
E-mail: sjones@autoplotvw.com

Thank you very much Sam,

I think I will go ahead and buy the software now. That was the last open question. 

Cheers for now and I am sure more questions will come up.

One of my first thoughts when seeing how Marionette works, that it would be a great flow charting tool. The way the mesh lines connect and stay connected as you move stuff around is ideal.