Kayak Model Set Up

mr_jones

Anyone try this yet? I've read a few posts warning not to try boat hulls...so that makes it more of a challenge

First question, whats the best way to orient the model, i.e. length of boat in X, Y or Z axis?

Second question, what's the best tool for creating the surface or skin?

The project will be based on a simple kayak using wood frames and "skin" hull. Frames on regular intervals. Stringers will connect to "nodes" on the frames and, hopefully create a fair curve. That seems like the tricky part. Actually for the hull "skin" i have no idea where/how to start.

thanks

I am by no means an expert in this kind of 3d modeling (ie: free-form or nearly so), but here's my 2?. Orient the model realistically. In Top/Plan you should be looking down on it from above, etc. If you can create the wood frames, then turn the whole model upside down (which *might* require you to group and literally flip the whole thing) you might be able to use the "Drape Surface" command to create your skin (as a nurbs surface). Or you can trace/draw 3d polygons by snapping to the various different points on the frames... I'll bet others have some more insight on this. Let us know how it goes...

A couple more ideas:

Make the hull and deck as two separate lofts. Draw the ribs as NURBS curves and make a standard loft with the loft tool by clicking the end point of each rib in sequence. Smoother curves with fewer points may make a better loft. You can draw ribs in 2d and convert to NURBS, then place them along your axis.

The deck can be a continuous lofted surface. Punch the holes after lofting.

Add ribs to strictly control the surface shape, say every 25cm instead of every 50cm. Otherwise, the loft may curve too much past the inflection points.

OR