How can I pick and choose individual classes to display on some design layers but not others?

anixo

Question

So I have multiple design layers for stage 1 and stage 2 of a project (with the same baseplan).

I am using classes to turn off/on reveal the objects needed for stage 1 and stage 2 in design layers separately.

I am a newbie and I figured this is possible but I am struggling to figure this out.

Details below:

I have 3 Design layers

Design layer 1 shows the baseplan and shows no classes.

(Even though all classes are set to visible) this is good, this is what I want.

Design layer 2 shows:

The baseplan

My "stage 1 classes" 

and none of the "stage 2 classes"

(Again, all classes are set to visible)

This is ok this is what I want...

But Design layer 3 for some reason, shows ALL of the "stage 1 classes" AS WELL AS the "stage 2 classes"

(Again, all classes visible)

I'm wondering why I am able to assign certain classes to the first two design layers, but the third Design layer I cannot seem to turn off some classes without losing them on another Design layer.

Edited by anixo

6 answers to this question

after trial and error.. I can see that when I have a design layer active. Any changes to the classes made in that layer are specific to that layer is this correct?

And so each design layer I go into, I need to edit the classes separately, even if I want to show the same information as other layer classes?

Classes and Design Layers are independent.

It might help to think of it like this:

Design layers are like stackable sheets of mylar in the old days of drafting.  You can change the stacking order of them and that will determine what stacks on top of what.

Classes are used to control visibility of objects AND graphic attributes.  Classes are in alphabetical order.  The order cannot be changed.  They have nothing to do with stacking.