Micel

'Glow Texture' - I'm new to it!

Hi Folks, 

Hope yer can help...working on a custom lighting project and would like to use the 'Glow Texture' effect to cut down on rendering time.

Never tried it before, so I've started having a play around and the problem I'm having is that the effect looks to kick in while it's rendering yet I end up with a 'White Object' once rendering is completed?

Any help would be appreciated

Cheers

Screenshot 2019-07-19 at 16.37.38.png

Screenshot 2019-07-19 at 16.37.24.png

what are your settings for the texture object? In general, a glow texture, emitting light works best behind another solid object.

Hi Kevin

Settings are: 

Colour: Fresnel

Reflectivity: Glow

Transparency: None

Bump: None

What do you have when you hit Edit next to Glow? What does the geometry look like rendered, and what are you looking to achieve?

Or you might want to consider Backlit instead of Glow, with a light source behind it.

The lighting project I'm working on involves over 80 'glass orbs' and I'd like to add a 'glow' effect so that I can provide a night scene.

Screenshot 2019-07-19 at 17.23.53.png

Screenshot 2019-07-19 at 17.18.19.png

Hi Tamsin,

I'll give that a try

Those spheres are chrome? Maybe turn off cast shadows and add another sphere inside with a glow, but lower the percentage.

The spheres are glass with a chrome bulb holder - I've drawn the actual bulb itself and added a 'glow' texture, but unfortunately I end up with a 'white' object and no light emitting....

You have to have light bouncing turned on in Renderworks for a glow to emit light... but from your screenshot, it looks like you do.

• Like 1

Hi Tamsin/Kevin

I'll give everything you've mentioned a try and let you know how I get on...appreciate your time.

• Like 1

Had a play around this morning, but still unable to get the 'glow' to transfer on to surrounding objects...

Maybe it's something simple that I'm just overlooking...who knows?