3D working in VW - Opinions please!

I am fairly new to 3D working in VW and am self taught and so wanted to hear others opinion on what is the best way to do things.

I work mainly in the Architectural Interiors field (although not an architect, nor to that level of detail), I usually start a drawing using the wall tools and for speed i will use the inbuilt widgets for certain elements like baths, WC's some furniture, but these are fairly limited and i often then have to then find a 3d Symbol or draw something from scratch if it is not available as a widget.

As the design develops and changes many of the walls and widgets can become a hindrance and I find myself swapping out walls for extruded Polygons and 3d symbols, as many of the 3D tools don't work on these elements either. This is also true when you get into Renderworks as many of the widgets are very basic in appearance.

I want to know how others, who work in similar fields, approach this and is there a accepted norm to the way you may produce 3D interior drawings and Renderings. Do most people ignore the in built tools and start from scratch and build up their own libraries of symbols (as i have done in 2D over the years)?

Edited by simbob

simbob, please see

please keep in mind that we are programers so "garbage in garbage out"

this is what i do:

footings and foundations are custom modeled

wall tool used for walls

floor tool used for ff and sub floor and countertops

ceilings are extrudes

stairs are custom modeled

window & door tool used as is

framing tool used for floor framing

roof tool only used to represent sheathing & top surface 1/4" or so

roof, window & door trim custom modeling