Wall changes to line

I'm new to VW but not to CAD 2012 Design w/ Renderworks.

Several questions, today

I imported a dwg. It came in as one VW layer with several classes. That seems fine.

So far I am working on walls (only about 10 walls) and doors, tracing over the dwg with wall and curved wall tools and adding doors. I'm almost finished but could I have converted the dwg walls to VW walls easily?

It has 2 curved walls one came out fine, the other is fine as long as the height is 0. When I make it 20' tall it turns into two straight pink (?) lines with a center point at the apogee of the curve in plan view and in perspective view it is 4 lines -- curved top and bottom and vertical ends. In plan view with 0 height it looks just like all the other walls. All of the settings for the two curved walls seem to be the same.

Also everything looks fine in plan view but when I switch to perspective the dwg layer stays flat and unrotated and my walls look like they are supposed to, except for the pervious issue. Is there a way to make them stay together or is that just how it is?

Is this the best place to pose these questions of is there a better place. I found a beginners forum but the last post was in 2010 I think.

If the dwg file was created in Autodesk Architecture (previously Architectural Desktop) and they were Wall objects to begin with, then yes you can bring them in as 3d "walls". Although they won't be editable. It is much faster and accurate to just redraw them with the corresponding tools in VW. I haven't tried using the IFC import, but walls may come in as editable walls using that (but I don't think so).

The "straight lines" in your curved walls are probably due to a low 3d resolution setting. Go to Vectorworks > Preferences > 3d > 3d conversion res = High or Very High.

You may also want to go to File > Document Settings > Document Preferences > Display > and select "Mesh smoothing with crease angle" and set it to 70 or higher.