Question

Minna

I received a 3d file (dwg) of the streets in a residential area from a street designer.  It shows the structural layers of the streets, ditches, cuts etc. Is there any way to get from it a site modifier for my landscape plan.   I can get the file imported into my own plan, but as it is not a site modifier it does not show up correctly in the image.  The file size is quite huge... 
I am quite new to Vectorworks and just learning 3d drawing.  I am using VW2023.Road plan.dwg

Minna

A few questions...

1) Are you working in meters?  I assume you probably are,  based upon your location.

2) What exactly is your goal in the big picture using data from the dwg file?

3) When you said 'site modifier' did you mean 'site model'??

4) Do you know what the scale of the dwg file should be?

5) Will you be using just a portion of the roads shown?

All your classes are noted in your native language so I don't really know what they mean 😞

I also opened the DWG in Bricscad.

It contains mainly the Components Streets.

Corpus or Foundations, wear Coverings and such things.

I can sort them in my Structural Browser by Layers, Geometry Types, ...

These are somehow 3D Volumes, or could at least get some by

stitching these "polyline" meshes.

But I did not really get how the faces are meant or if there are any

redundant parts that could cause stitch problems.

And there are some Faces at the borders that represent cut faces

of the terrain where he created banks/slopes.

Also there are a lot of Polylines.

Looks like for each edge, of each Component, along street direction.

(Maybe useful asa prototype for creating Site Modifiers from it)

But there are many so hard to find the needed ones.

Not sure how much of the geometry you need to extract for your purpose.

But I think the key is to sort and separate the content and hide/delete

everything you do not need.

Theoretically, if getting proper Solids is possible, you could lay them

over your DTM.