Electrical symbols

Hello

I'm new to Vectorworks & this is my first forum post. Can anyone help with explaining where to find a good selection of electrical symbols to use on a residential plan (for the electrician to work from). I found a handful in Libraries but not what I need.

Thank you for helping with what I'm sure is a very basic question!

Welcome to the forum.  

In the MEP tool palette there are tools for switches, receptacles, fixtures, etc.

I've found that there are often instances where I need symbols in addition to those and I often need 3D representations that are client specific.  So I just make my own.  

You're new to VW.  Have you discovered the thrill of making symbols yet?  (Are you wanting to learn how to fish, or do you just need one dang fish?)

• 3 weeks later...

....I have mastered some symbol making & now have the beginnings of my own electrical library (Hooray!).

Another question....I don't have the Resource Browser Palette & can't seem to find where it might be. Is it now part of Resource manager in 2020?

Thanks!

Thank you.

While I've got you, Michael....I imported a pdf drawing of a floorplan. I have been using it to draw on top ( created another layer...hope that's right). All going fine until my pdf disappeared, leaving me with a half finished new plan. I've tried to find it, to no avail. Thinking I accidentally deleted? Do I need to start from scratch?

Make sure your layer options are set to Show/Snap Others or Show Others.  If it's set to Grey Others or Grey/Snap Others then PDFs on other layers are not visible.

When that doesn't work make all classes visible.  I've often accidentally put something in the nonplot class 😀