DoMenuTextByName can't call menu command

GioPet

Hi, 

I am trying to call the function 'Site Model from Source Data...' found under the menu AEC>Terrain>

I haven't been able to figure out how to call this using vs.DoMenuTextByName.

Doing some digging, I've noticed that in the Workspace Editor the function is 'hidden' under the command 'Site Model Processor'

Does anyone have any idea on how to go about this?

Thank you!

Hi Nicolas,

thank you for the response but unfortunately that doesn't solve it - i've tried with several indexes.

Based on Vectorscript Function Reference, Terrain is the submenu so the following should work:

vs.DoMenuTextByName('Terrain',1)

But it doesn't work either..

Edited by GioPet
typo

Hi,

I'm no expert when it come to scripting (just like to dabble) however I'm also intrigued by the batch tool allocation you're referencing in the menu structure as I struck it yesterday when looking at Model>Create Animation (which is similar to your 4 submenu items..

As noted in your first post the menu item 'Site Model Processor' add 4 new menu items - including your desired 'Site Model form Source Data...'.

I also like you cannot call the menu item; by name, by a subset of Terrain, by a subset of Site Model Processor.

I recall vaguely some of the functions were available in the DTM section of the Vectorworks Function Library but I can't find them anymore listed there. Additionally I suspect this subset of scripts references a Python Library set (most probably Site-Packages in your python local folder) and therefore Vectorworks probably has a little trouble accessing it without a few other elements - probably activated within the same menu set.