How to avoid displaying Light Objects in Custom RW

Hi,

I'm fairly new to VectorWorks, so I hope someone can help me with this - I've been researching for hours and just can't work it out ...

I've added interior lighting to a house design.

After discovering that the 'Shaded' render mode only supports 8 lighting objects (that took a couple of hours to work out), I switched to RenderWorks so all the lighting objects can be enabled at the same time.

The lighting works fine - that is, all the interior spaces are illuminated as expected - but after the render finishes, the lighting objects appear as bright spheres, or sometimes as ghostly outlines in the final render - see the images attached.

All the lights are 'point' sources, with their class defined as 'light source' with 'fill' and 'pen' set to 'None'.

How can I prevent the lighting objects themselves appearing in the final render ?

Many thanks 🙂

VW Lighting Objects 1.jpg

VW Lighting Objects 2.jpg

What version of VW are you using?  The 8 light limit was removed in VW2023 or VW2024.  There is a setting in the Document Preferences Display pane that you can uncheck to allow more than 8 lights in Shaded.

There is a setting in Vectorworks Preferences, Display Pane that let you set light object to be seen Always, in Wireframe only, or Never. Wireframe is probably your best bet. But you can switch between Always and Never to adjust your lights also.

image.png.d63629c9a5c7b75db998a8ba092e6e76.png

• Like 2

Hi Pat,

Thanks very much for your super-speedy reply 🙂

Ah - I knew it would be something simple - it works !!

Thanks so much for your tip.

BTW - Im using VW 2023 SP8 on an M1 Mac - cant see any setting there to enable more than 8 lights in Shaded mode ?

Hi Pat,

Thanks again for your speedy feedback ... and the helpful tip - all my lighting objects come on now - great !

There does seem to be an unexpected behaviour with that setting though (Renderworks is OK) ...