Question to Device Builder

bjoerka

I am new to CC. Formerly used to draw my schematics and rack layouts with Stardraw .-)

I am trying to generate new devices with the device builder.

Here it is an extender for video.

Are there any settings i don´t know to get the connectors inside a device distributed with more space?

I can change the layout when the device is placed in the drawing, but when i place another instance with the device builder the layout is as narrow as it was inside the device builder...

Left image is what is generated by the device builder, right image what i like to have it look like

Bildschirmfoto2023-10-28um17_49_42.thumb.png.1afdcc5c20f6a03361df050b6ba85d25.png 

Edited by bjoerka

Looks like it could be a grid scale issue. Open a copy of the standard ConnectCAD template and check the grid sizes in the grid snap settings. Whatever they are, match that config in your file. I think it's 4 x 4 snap and 16 x 16 reference, from memory.

I'd also check the design layer scale is 1:1.

• Like 1

Thanks for the hint.

I checked the CC template and there, for metric templates, the defaults are 4*4 and 16*16.

But these are the same as in my template.

So i changed it to in my template to 8*8 and 16*16 and then the spacings looks much better!

Bildschirmfoto2023-10-28um22_02_36.thumb.png.be5db911017abd6ca289c42312cb546e.png

Edited by bjoerka
  • Vectorworks, Inc Employee
On 10/28/2023 at 11:02 PM, bjoerka said:

Thanks for the hint.

I checked the CC template and there, for metric templates, the defaults are 4*4 and 16*16.

But these are the same as in my template.

So i changed it to in my template to 8*8 and 16*16 and then the spacings looks much better!

Bildschirmfoto2023-10-28um22_02_36.thumb.png.be5db911017abd6ca289c42312cb546e.png

Hello @bjoerka,