Layers, layers all around...

I'm new at VW and feeling my way through the "layers." I think this is one, very basic, area that is poorly presented in the manuals and tutorials. Design Layers, Sheet Layers, Viewports.... their various purposes and uses are not well described.

If I understand things correctly, Design Layers are for, just that, designing. When you want to print out presentation sheets, however, then you are supposed to make a Sheet Layer (with Border, Title Block, etc) and "import" the things you have designed into the Sheet Layer using Viewports.

Why not just design in a Design Layer, add a border and title block, and print out from that design layer? What's the advantage of importing things through Viewports in Sheet Layers?

Slightly confused.

Marc

Marc,

This is all about data storage and retrieval. In all database environments the key is to store all similar but unique information in such a way that you have access to mutliple instances of varied data to report(output) the information in way that is understandable an logical to the market.

To put it in VW terms....

1.) Classes are at the bottom

2.) Design Layers contain classes

....Thats it! Now build your model...The design layers contain the elevation "Z" height data and each desing layer contains multiple classes. All the model data gets organized in the proper place and easy to retrieve.

3.) Viewports...These are snapshots of multiple design layers with their visible(or not) classes.

4.) Sheets...contain the multiple viewports(the snapshots)...this gives you the ability to report your model in multiple views.

5.) Saved views are just that....quick ways to move around in your model based on remembering where you were at the time of the save and take you back there again and again.

Here is the cool part...