Worksheets Database Headers

I am new to VW and I am trying to create a Light and Vent schedule. When I select the Criteria for the Header field for the Actual Area ,=('Space'.'Actual Area'), the program returns a 0 and all fields have a zero. The syntax seems to be the issue but I am trying to follow what appears to be the correct syntax. When I select the field from the Criteria list it returns the following variations which do not seem to work either. I have had similar problems with other worksheets that I was trying to create which fortunately you have already defined.

(Space.'Actual Area')

((Space.'Actual Area'))

(('Space'.'Actual Area'))

Additionally, once this is working, can I input "if-then" functions as database headers to produce calcs based on the Actual Area fields culled into the spreadsheet?

thanks

Greg Randall

• Vectorworks, Inc Employee

try using single quotes on the 'Habitable' string. I'm also not sure about your (dollar-sign) absolute references. I know this kind of thing can be done, but there is some finesse. You can email me directly on this issue, and maybe send me a file:

randerson@nemetschek.net

"Mr. Anderson"

Thanks for your reply it helped getting the real parameter name. I am still unclear on the "if-then" issue. The following is the syntax I have put in the Database Header line and the only result that I get is the equation repeated in the subsequent fields.

=if(($H4="Habitable"),$C4*.08,0)

Are the database header fields reserved for data lookup only?

Greg