Truss Questions

So right now, the biggest problem I have is in creating truss structures. Let's say I want to create a basic square shape that is 3.5m. I need four 3m sections and 4 90 degree corner pieces. The issue I have is that right now to do this, I have to overlap the straight pieces on top of eachoter in 2D to make it look like a square. Is there a existing library or other method everyone uses to incorporate corner pieces/cubes/other connectors in their designs?? Im also curious if this applies to 3d work as that would be even better if the symbols were both 2d and 3d.

I'm not so worried about EXACT pieces of truss (global/thomas ect) - i just need a simplified resource of concept plots ect.

I've seen plenty of renderings/plots with corner blocks and everything else so i'm sure their out there or people have created their own. Any help would be great...

Second question is probably a easy solved question but I'm self taught and still new. Is it possible to rotate X/Y of a piece of truss in a 3d view? I've only able to do it by changing the hanging angle in the past and this really seems like a bad way of doing things.

How does everyone else acomplis this?

thanks for any help!

d

In vectorworks 2009 if you have spotlight it comes with a lot of resources especially from James thomas. I prefer using symbols of actual pieces as opposed to the truss tool for some reasons you mentioned. I would go with that. If there is something specific you don't have that you are looking for let me know and if I have it I will share.

If you want to rotate a truss it is best when using symbols or not the truss tool because you can rotate it in 3d just like you rotate anything. If you do draw what you want with the truss tool and then look at it in a 3d view you can ungroup it and it will no longer be part of the plug in object You can then rotate it how ever you want.

Matt