Edit Custom Truss Shape Properties

t.sanchez

Question

Hello all,

I've been using Vectorworks for about 8 months. Part of my job focuses on updating and correcting my company's resource manager truss symbols in our shared workgroup library. While I've managed to get almost everything in order, there's a hiccup with the original symbol properties data. Specifically, the truss weights are inaccurate in the Object Info Palettes truss properties. We have the correct weights in our custom attached records, but the goal is to ensure consistency across all the data.

Screenshot2023-11-06103355.thumb.png.a2e66d19ef46fbf81592eba4f16e4f2f.pngScreenshot2023-11-06103630.thumb.png.339b94bf3217b50b58aaae7e2473b0f4.png

I've attached images showcasing the differences. The correct weight is 63lb, but the imputed weight is 59lb. As those of you who are familiar with this process know, we can edit the data after we input it as a truss Symbol, but we would like to fix the problem at the root. The data that needs editing is the one inputted when creating a new truss (see below image). Despite searching the forums and Vectorworks itself, I haven't found a way to locate and edit this data.

Screenshot2023-11-06102258.thumb.png.fd09a2210f309404c1dcb6b9884102b0.png

One thing I have considered is recreating each symbol from "scratch" and inputting the correct data, but since only the weight needs fixing and we have over a hundred symbols, I believe there should be a more efficient solution. This is my first time posting and I feel like some of this terminology can get muddled a bit so let me know if you need any clarifications. I would appreciate any guidance or insights you can offer on this matter.

Thank you for your time and assistance.

Best regards,

Edited by t.sanchez
typo

2 answers to this question

• Vectorworks, Inc Employee