Just starting in Vectorworks Architect, problems with doors and snaps

I'm just starting to learn vectorworks/architect and have a problem with doors, when I insert a door and screen, in the 3-d view there are large overlapping boxes around the door and screen that render solid, I have no idea why this is happening and can't see how to get rid of them, also when inserting doors a stile appears about 900mm away from the door, just floating in space??? another thing was, by adjusting the number of panels to try and get a "flush door" I ended up with my door leaf being hung half ways up the doorframe and extending below the floor, I couldn't see any way to adjust the height of the door relative to the door frame??? any idea why these things are happening?

Also I'm wondering is there a way to "force" a snap to a particular object when there are a many that the smart cursor finds? I have used Microstation before and you could keep alt-clicking on a point until it selected the one you want, is there something similar with Vectorworks or do you have to move the cursor around hoping to pick up, I'm concerned that as drawings get more cluttered it will be difficult to get the right snap point

I'm using VA 9 on G4 powerbook, OS9.1

Frank-The boxes you see may be the door jambs which seem to render correctly the trim however does not (I was told by tech support that this is a known bug) before I went back to 8 I was importing doors from 8 into 9. If you set panels,verticle stiles and horizontal stiles (actually called rails in the industry) to 0 you will get a flat panel door. Without setting up specific classes to isolate what you are trying to snap I believe snap constraints are the best way to solve your snap problem (I could be wrong about this) good luck.

Thanks for your quick reply