solid lines not appearing on screen

I am just learning Vectorworks, so I hope this isn't a completely inane questions. {I've used Autocad for 8 years, so am familiar with CAD programs].

When I set a class to have a 'solid' line, and I draw a line on the screen, the line doesn't appear. Only the endpoints do. If I change the class setting to 'dashed,' the line appears.

Help!

It sounds like you're drawing in black on a black background, or possibly drawing with thickness zero or with pen type "None", and when you think you're changing the color of a line you're really changing some other color setting that doesn't pertain to the line, and when you think you're just changing the line from solid to dashed, you're really changing something else, and that something else happens to change the color of the line to white or the pen type from "None" to "Dash".

Another possibility is that you're confusing "Pattern" with "Dash". A "Pattern" line has two colors, so if the foreground color is black and the background color is anything other than black, you would see something when the line is "Pattern" but not when it's "Solid".

The only thing I can think of that would yield exactly the effect you described is if you draw a white line, then duplicate it in place or draw over it, and the second line somehow is black, so that when you change its line type to Dash, parts of the white line underneath show through. But that seems very unlikely.

I can't tell exactly what's going on from what you've written, especially given the extra complication of assigning dash style by Class. But here are some things to consider: