Offsetting the rim from the jamb to make room for hinge in BIM.

2 hours ago, Wes Gardner said:

@Meret I don't believe that the "stock" doors/trim package offer this degree of detail.

Wes

Thanks, Wes! 
It's just weird because it basically means I can't pull any door details from the model. Doesn't that defeat the purpose? I'm still learning the advantages and disappointments of VW.

Meret

4 hours ago, Meret said:

Thanks, Wes! 
It's just weird because it basically means I can't pull any door details from the model. Doesn't that defeat the purpose? I'm still learning the advantages and disappointments of VW.

Meret

Why on earth would anyone pull door or window details from a BIM model.  Building sections, sure.  Interior elevations, absolutely.  But door jamb details?  Seriously, why would you do that to yourself?

• 4 weeks later...
On 3/9/2022 at 11:09 AM, Meret said:

I am looking for a way to set my door trim (as specified in the Door settings) back from the inner edge of the jamb in order to allow room for hinges. I'm attaching a drawing showing which bit.

Thank you!

Meret

Screen Shot 2022-03-09 at 12.09.09 PM.png

Easiest to just model the door the way that you want.  I do agree that doors, windows, etc. should be modeled accurately instead of using antiquated symbols as if we were still drawing by hand.  

1673028390_ScreenShot2022-04-07at8_29_21AM.png.0df334446403758ed5445459ee08c688.png

Screen Shot 2022-04-07 at 8.28.36 AM.png

• Like 2
  • 6 months later...
On 3/14/2022 at 9:57 PM, jeff prince said:

Why on earth would anyone pull door or window details from a BIM model.  Building sections, sure.  Interior elevations, absolutely.  But door jamb details?  Seriously, why would you do that to yourself?

No need to be snarky about it--I am new to BIM and I guess I was trying to use it as such, cutting sections in large detail etc. But yeah, I guess not.

17 minutes ago, Meret said: