Jump to content

Project Sharing Server User Manual


Recommended Posts

Hello,

 

we are testing Project Sharing Server 2021 on Docker on a Synology NAS right now and look for any kind of user manual what to do when things go wrong.
E.g. when a connection to the server while sending changes is disconnected or vectorworks crashes and the Project Sharing File is "locked".
What procedure should be followed then?
 

Also two more questions:
1) In the 2021 version the full file is transferred on sending changes - Is it planned that this changed in the future to a delta sync (or did it already change in 2022?)

2) Backup of Project Sharing file also seems to be happen by the client sending a full copy to the server, or? (Instead of the server making a copy before/after the commit locally)

Thank you and all the best
Christian

 

Link to comment
  • Vectorworks, Inc Employee

Hi Christian, 

 

Information about the Project Sharing Server are included in the Vectorworks manual. 

 

45 minutes ago, CeeBee said:

when a connection to the server while sending changes is disconnected

With the Project Sharing Server (PPS), users do not need to mount the Synology NAS drive; we do not rely on the SMB/AFP connection. We use HTTP, which means each client's action (ex. commit, check out, etc.) requires a new HTTP connection - all without any user intervention. We use a checksum to ensure all data is received when sending changes. As such, there is no side effect to disconnecting the connection (ex. WiFi) while sending changes.

 

There are many more technical (or implementation) details about the Project Sharing Server and how it works. For example, we also use web-sockets, so the Project Sharing Server is notified if Vectorworks is shut down/crashes. In summary, all those "Project File is locked," and "connection" problems you used to see with File-based Project Sharing no longer exist with the Project Sharing Server.

 

45 minutes ago, CeeBee said:

1) In the 2021 version the full file is transferred on sending changes - Is it planned that this changed in the future to a delta sync (or did it already change in 2022?)

This is planned for a future release. 

 

45 minutes ago, CeeBee said:

Backup of Project Sharing file also seems to be happen by the client sending a full copy to the server, or? (Instead of the server making a copy before/after the commit locally)

Currently, the client sends a copy of the Project File to the server. Yes,  the Project Sharing Server could do that work. However, we still support File-based Project Sharing. The Project Sharing Server is meant to be a direct replacement for our previous File-based solution.

 

By the way, the Project Sharing Server is backwards compatible. You can use Vectorworks 2021 with the Project Sharing Server that comes with Vectorworks 2022.

 

Thanks,

Tolu

Link to comment
16 hours ago, Tolu said:

There are many more technical (or implementation) details about the Project Sharing Server and how it works. For example, we also use web-sockets, so the Project Sharing Server is notified if Vectorworks is shut down/crashes. In summary, all those "Project File is locked," and "connection" problems you used to see with File-based Project Sharing no longer exist with the Project Sharing Server.


We can quite easily put the Project File into a locked state by pulling the network cable out of the computer that makes a commit. 
Other Clients can not commit then. What should be done in this case to get the file unlocked?

 

Link to comment
  • Vectorworks, Inc Employee

One minute after unplugging the network cable, other user should be able to connect. After 1 minute, the Project File should become unlocked.

Link to comment
18 hours ago, Tolu said:

One minute after unplugging the network cable, other user should be able to connect. After 1 minute, the Project File should become unlocked.


Hello Tolu,


this works sometimes, but in 2 of 4 situations the file stays locked.
Screenshot is from a german installation. 1 Minute after we made the commit we pulled the network cable.


image.png.a7d6ebd7561d8c241982dd227853f6c7.png

This Screenshot is from another Computer that wants to commit.

What is the advised to do when this happens? (We clicked Cancel (Abbrechen) And Retry (Wiederholen) several times.

 

 

We tried this with the Project Sharing Server bundled in VWX2021 (ProjectSharingServerInstaller-602034-docker-image-555) and VWX2022 (ProjectSharingServerInstaller-602034-docker-image-549).
Interesting Fact: The Project Server bundled with VWX 2021 seems to be a later release, indicated by the 555 and the datestamps of the files.
Is there a public changelog / release notes for the project sharing server?

 

Best
Christian

 

Bildschirmfoto 2022-03-03 um 23.33.06.png

Link to comment
  • Vectorworks, Inc Employee

We also have a failsafe where the PSS will release all locks after 8 hours. Having said that, if you think your internet is terrible (i.e., it drops frequently) and you have to simulate it by unplugging your network cable, then you have more significant problems. Project Sharing requires a fast and stable network connection. Please refer to our system requirements here: https://www.vectorworks.net/sysreq

 

6 hours ago, CeeBee said:

We tried this with the Project Sharing Server bundled in VWX2021 (ProjectSharingServerInstaller-602034-docker-image-555) and VWX2022 (ProjectSharingServerInstaller-602034-docker-image-549).
Interesting Fact: The Project Server bundled with VWX 2021 seems to be a later release, indicated by the 555 and the datestamps of the files.

No, it is the same build. 602034 is the important number.

 

Thanks,

Tolu

Link to comment

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...