Wall Type and Hatches

• Vectorworks, Inc Employee

Mark,

With a text editor, take a look at the file:

[VW folder]\Plug-ins\Data\Wall Hatches.VSS

This file defines the 4 wall fill patterns and 7 hatches that are used in the Wall Styles feature. The patterns are hard-coded, but you can substitute any 7 hatches you like with a little cut-and-pasting. You can re-name the hatches, also. My recommendation is to tweak up 7 hatches you like in a blank document, then export that document as VectorScript, then cut-and-paste between that document and the Walls Hatches.VSS document, and name as appropriate.

Caveat: (lightweight) knowledge of VectorScript (or liberal amounts of courage and luck in approximately equal measure) are recommended. Also, save the document in its original form if you mess it up, etc. etc.

• 9 months later...

Being a complete newbie to this program I need a little more guidance on this topic.

We are looking to do exactly what the original poster needed - my question is where do you find the code for the hatch patterns that come in the Attibute Pallet?

We want to use some of those hatches in place of the standard 11.

We can use the "default fill" to take care of one of the hatches by setting the class to the fill that we want and that works fine for interior filled walls, but on the exterior we need to use two different fills that aren't available under the standard 11. We need the inner stud wall to be a pattern off of the Pattern Pallet and the exterior brick offset to be a hatch pattern that isn't in the standard set as well...any ideas?

Thanks

antoine

[ 11-03-2003, 11:00 AM: Message edited by: AntoineDeHon ]