M1 iMac RAM needed for Vectorworks?

I'm no expert but I would have thought the main determinant of RAM is your applications, not the processor. Vectorworks loves RAM, especially if you deal with large files or complex renderings. For us these iMacs are not even worth considering. 16 GB RAM would cripple working with some of our files.

Edited by Christiaan

And a little more to back up the above:

architosh.com/2021/04/apples-new-m1-imacs-are-they-fast-for-cad-3d-users

The rubber will hit the road, and NV, once we see the next tier of Apple's line up, hopefully with a preview at WWDC in six weeks. This would be consistent with the way Apple has introduced their Pro level machines over recent years. And with the iMac Pro already discontinued, it seems even more likely they'll do it again this year.     

Edited by M5d
  • Like 2

I think we all have been conditioned to think the more RAM the better, and although this may still be true, it appears that it is less important with the M1. I'm pretty sure that for my needs 8GB will be plenty. Heck, I use an underpowered MacBook Pro 13" Touch Bar now and it does the job. All of that said, if the cost to go to 16GB RAM is an additional $200, then I think I will do that. If I don't, I will always kick myself for not upping the RAM even though I may not really need it, but it will get used.

https://www.macworld.com/article/234843/m1-macs-memory-isnt-what-it-used-to-be.html

• Like 2

Ah I see, fascinating, so it's very much related to the processor's architecture.

I was also reading this take this morning, along related lines:

https://www.extremetech.com/computing/322120-apples-m1-positioning-mocks-every-x86-cpu-amd-and-intel-have-ever-launched