Photometric Report?

djobbins

Hey all,

I've been a theatrical/event lighting designer for a while now, but I've been transitioning into more architecture and landscape lighting lately.  I'm trying to wrap my head around the photometric grid and photometer tools in spotlight.  I was wondering if there was a way to export the information from them into a report?  I'd like to be able to show min/max footcandles, average, etc for a given area.  I assume if I pull the data into a spread sheet I can just build some formulas to do the mathematics, but I'm not sure how to get the data for each point into a report.

I tried playing around with this earlier this morning.  Unfortunately, there doesn't seem to be a way to get the information out of Vectorworks.  Because the footcandle value isn't reported to a parameter or record, there doesn't seem to be a way to pull the information in a database worksheet or report for either the photometric grid or with a single photometer object.  It would really require adding something to the plug-in object coding to output that information to a record field so that it can be pulled in a report.  Unfortunately, that would need to be something Vectorworks to add since all of the built-in plug-ins are more or less locked down.  You could try filing it as wishlist item, I don't think using Vectorworks as an architectural lighting designer is truly viable until that work is done.