Irrigation Catalog Additions, and Perf Prec Rates

Luke Gilmer

I'm just beginning to use the irrigation tool set.  Two questions:  

1) I'm using impact sprinkler products for field pasture irrigation which are not in the VW Catalog.  It seems I can not directly add new manufacturer outlet products to the irrigation Catalog ... but can do so indirectly by, for example, selecting a rotor outlet product that does exist in the Catalog, draw this outlet, then on the Obj Info select 'Get from Catalog', then duplicating the Catalog entry, and adding my new sprinkler data to this duplication.  This process seems REALLY awkward, and difficult to later find my edited duplicate.  Any direct way to enter new outlet device data so new manufacturer's data readily shows in the Catalog?

2) Related, I'm reviewing precipitation performance data for outlets, and something seems in error.  The precipitation rates in the performance data are shown in 'ft/sec' units ... which no one uses.  And, the data seems wacky ... a small Hunter rotor shows a precipitation rate-rectangular of 0.27 ft/s.  That is impossible.  It seems the units should be inches/hour, then the rate seems more believable.  Many other outlet devices seem grossly in error.  Is this a software bug in the display of performance precipitation units?  

Thanks, Luke

• 2 months later...
  • Vectorworks, Inc Employee

Hi @Piotr Karczewski and @Luke Gilmer,

Yes, it is awkward to add content from the feature UI, but there is an easy way to do it via Excel.

Go to the 'Libraries\Defaults\Irrigation\Catalogs' location in your Vectorworks installation.

There you'll see a list of files organized by name which relates to the tool and mode, they are named well so you'll orient easily what is for what.

Then notice that there are three files with the same name, and then another three with the same name suffixed with ' - Performance Data'