RJenni

Help with lighting a render

I'm looking for some advice on lighting a render. I work in retail and need to do quick renders to show how product would be displayed.  A lot of these renders are only one wall.  The light always lets them down as they don't look realistic.  I need to show ambient lighting or spotlights as well as some feature lighting.  Would this be because I am not closing the area off (with 4 walls) or is there certain tips I could use to enhance the way I am lighting.

In the images shown it's almost like a grey film over the top and they don't seem as sharp as they shoud be.  Any help would be much appreciated.

2A.jpg

3.jpg

Edited by RJenni

I've managed the under shelf lighting but had to leave the spotlights out as it was throwing the brightness off. Also the lightbox on the backwall was hard to achieve as I had to put the image on in photoshop after I had rendered but it should really have more of a glow.

Edited by RJenni

Well, the lightbox, I wouldn't use lighting as much as a glow texture on the image. Similarly, I would add a white glow texture to the downlighting in the ceiling. In this case, the texture would have "cast Shadows" turned off so that the VWX lIght Objects above could pass through.

• Like 2

@RJenni Yeah, Kevin Allen is spot on suggesting simply adding a 'glow' to the texture. It works wonders when using recessed lighting in ceilings, etc. I use it often in my renderings.

1696485553_LIVINGTOKITCHEN4.thumb.jpg.2891cf8d28df4f50431441cd4f7a27c5.jpg

• Like 2

@RJenni Also, sometimes the output resolution for a particular sheet layer can make a huge difference relating to your comment about sharpness, etc. Pump that baby up!!  Depending, but on sheet layers for an 8x11 page I usually use between 400-600 dpi minimum. 

• Like 1

@Kevin Allen @Kevin K thank you both for your comments. I’ll give the glow texture a try. Also I tried the resolution on another render and that worked a treat.