Spotlight- Instruments insertion problems.

Joan67

Newbie here. This question may have been answered before but Im afraid I couldn't find it by doing a search

I have borrowed a laptop with Vectorworks 2020 SP3 for a project. The owner doesn't use spotlight so no help there.. For some reason, I cannot insert lighting instruments. I select an instrument via the resource browser and I can see the doted instrument ready to be inserted but when I click on the document and click again after selecting the angle nothing appears. It's not invisible because I can't select it either.

However, when I convert an object to an instrument via Spotlight/Object Conversion. I can select it, buts its invisible. I have made sure that it has 2d and 3d info. I have even tried to import old projects done on VW2015 which has instruments, all become invisible once imported...

All classes and layers are visible and I have them in Show/snap/modify.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Joan.

Is there a chance that the version of VW2020 that you are using is just the Fundamentals or Landmark version and doesn't have the Spotlight module installed?  To quickly check, click on Help - About Vectorworks (on Windows), or About Vectorworks under the Apple menu on Mac (I believe, don't have an Apple machine in front of me).  There is a category for "Licensed Products" and should include Spotlight.  If Spotlight isn't there, then VW might not have the Lighting Device plug-in object necessary to handle the lighting fixture, though it's odd that you have the Spotlight menu options....

The other thing to look at is that your Class Options under the View menu is set to Show/Snap/Modify Others.  There's a chance that you're on Active Only, so the different classes that make up the fixture symbols aren't visible.

Edited by Jesse Cogswell
  • Like 2

Thank you for getting back to me.