Managing Multiple 3D Layers

I was wondering if anyone had any tips for managing multiple 3D design Layers? Currently all of my 3D elements are on a single design layer with pretty much everything controlled by classes. This works but it can be a bit tedious to always have to turn off a bunch of classes for a sheet layer or saved view vs. turning off a single layer. I started testing multiple design layers using the unified view, However, I ran into an issue where the saved views no longer were in the same location. I don't know if this was caused by using more than one layer, adding RW cameras or if I somehow accidentally changed the X,Y,Z origin. Any thoughts or ideas? Luckily I do most of this testing in a test file so I am not losing anything.

What industry are you in and what do you develop in 3D?

I'm a landscape architect, use multiple design layers, and mostly work in 3D.  Multiple design layers are probably one of the most useful features for me coming from an AutoCAD background.  Essentially, I create as many design layers as I need to avoid the class workflow you described and to reflect the way the work gets executed.  I think of them as classes for classes 🙂  Complicated jobs get more detailed design layers to make the work easier.  Outside consultants usually get their own references, but sometimes layers... I quarantine their work.  I generally set them all to the same scale, set elevations based on the real world, and geolocate them.  I generally set a datum for the project before I get started on anything and make sure all files and layers are referenced to it because my work is heavily tied to real world positioning generally.  I set layers up so I can quickly turn off entire portions of the work that I do not need to see while designing, on a sheet, during a phase of work, or in a rendering.   I work on projects ranging in size from very large (airports, military installations, high rises, commercial centers, and regional planning) to relatively