Existing Tree not working AND Placing new trees (VW-AEC)

Hello, I am new to Vectorworks and I am still painfully learning the software.

I am trying to place existing trees in a site plan but I can't manage to see anything happening. I select the tool, click on the model, pick an orientation and all the options display. I can see all the different options EXCEPT graphic options. Then, if I click ok, nothing shows up. There are no tree, nothing. 

Additionally I haven't been able to find a tool that allows me to place trees or plants. I am very frustrated by how many symbols of random things are available but not plants. Is this because I have VW architect? Is placing plants something only available to VW landmark and designer??

I've check my workspace options, looking for hidden tools, and the only two landscape tools I can see is existing tree (which doesn't work anyway) and foliage. 

I do have the VBvisual plant option for rendering but this is not what I want. I need 2D/3D symbols for my plants in the plan. 

Thank you

Are you using the Existing Tree Tool in the Site Planning Toolset or something else to add your existing trees?

I’m on Designer/Landmark, so I am unsure if the tool is available in Architect.  If using the Existing Tree Tool, make sure the Active Class is visible and your attributes are set up correctly.  Change to Top/Plan view when adding the Existing Trees and they should show up just fine.

I use the tool frequently with great success.  It is super powerful.

Basically, you select the Existing Tree Tool, set the preferences, and start dropping them into your document.  Once they are placed, you can edit the data in the OIP or add an existing tree report to your document and edit it from there.  You can represent the trees in 2D and 3D, in fact it gives you the ability to generate an actual 3D canopy and trunk based on your selections and data input.

Hope it helps.

• Like 2