Countersunk 3D hole

Geep

Could someone post the procedure to place a drilled hole in a 3D cube?  I am trying to create a face plate that needs the mounting holes to be countersunk.  The drilled hole tool places the object on the 2D surface horizontally, and I can't find any instruction on how to place it such that the hole can be created.  In the 3D mode, which the instructions indicate will create such a hole, it places the same horizontal image at the bottom of the design, when I change the z position to show it above my cube, I can't manipulate it to create the desired hole.  Rank beginner here feeling my way along, so any suggestions appreciated.

1.  Make sure you have the Hole Drilled-3D or Hole Tapped-3D tool selected from the Detailing Tool Set. In the Designer Workspace this is hidden under the Hole Drilled tool. Click on the disclosure triangle to see what else is there.

2.  Set the Parameters for the object (click on the Wrench and Pencil icon in the Mode Bar) to produce the object you need.

3. Since the object does not want to insert the way you want it, just insert it the way it comes and then use the Rotation tools to get it to the direction you want and the Move commands to put it where you need the hole. You may want to insert some Loci or Guides to help you get to the right place.

4.  Select both the cube and the Hole* object and Subtract Solids.

I think I see the problem -- when I click on the hold drilled tool it does not offer a 3d version in the 3d or the 2d view.  The flightout appears, but only has hold drilled tool listed.  When I double click it, the properties dialogue opens, no 3D options.  I must have turned something off??

What version of VW are you using? Both Year and Package (Designer, Fundamentals, Landmark, Architect, Spotlight). It may be that your version does not have the 3D version.