Workgroup Customization

Can anyone give some examples of items used in a Workgroups that are useful for your organization or yourself as a user?  At my company we are starting to dabble into the benefits of Workgroups but currently we are only sharing files and templates.  I'm curious of what other things users have done with either default attribute types, record formats, plug-ins, object types, settings or anything in general.  I am new to the scope of the Workgroups and any gems of info anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated!  Thanks!

Edited by ChollyO
wrote the incorrect word "workspace" instead of "workgroup"

I normally work with the default workspaces, so I will leave it to others to explain what they change and why, but here are a few general thoughts (opinions) on why you might want to change your workspace and why you might not.

Why Not:

1. Asking for help is harder. At users group meetings people often don't know the name of the tool or command and say things like "Command-Shift M thing". If you have remapped that to something else and tell me Command-Shift J from your workspace I have no idea of what you are doing.

2. Training. If you ever go to a training class, it will almost certainly be done on a standard workspace. If you bring your workspace to the class you are likely to confuse yourself because you will have to do things differently than what the instructor is telling you.

3. Updates. We often come across people who developed a custom workspace a number of years ago and who are complaining about the lack of a feature that was already added to VW, but they didn't know about because they just brought across their workspace without checking on what was added to a newer version of VW.

4. Who gets to choose. If you set a custom workspace for your office, it is likely to be set to make sense for your brain and is probably no better for someone else than the standard default.