3D Plant Styles in 2D Elevation

StephHill

Hi,

I am new to Vectorworks and have purchased the 2019 VW Renderworks software to use on an iMac for garden design purposes, I am finishing off my GD diploma. I am self-taught on Vectorworks so please bear with me. 

I have created an elevation design layer on a 2D plan from my master plan (separate design layer), drawn guidelines and a boundary fence.The problem is I can't create 3D images from the 2D plants and trees I have used along the boundary line. I can see the 3D plant images with 'open GL preview' against the images in the plant preferences. 

I have found 'open GL preview' on the far right drop-down arrow at the top menu bar and after selecting this option, the screen changes colour and the 2D plant images disappear. I'm then promoted to import the resource and either preserve the file hierarchy or create a new one. I have selected preserve file hierarchy and then click on my elevation but nothing happens. Am I on the right track?

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thank-you!

Steph

Hi Steph. Welcome to the forum! A signature showing your vwx version and a description of your hardware is often helpful with troubleshooting. Create this in your forum account settings. 

Some ideas:

1.  The plant might be present but is invisible because its class or layer is set to invisible. Toggle the class/layer to visible in Navigation or Organization palette.