I'm just getting into Worksheets, and I understand how to use it with symbols and finding their quantities. However, I would love to figure out how to get lumber material counts. Ideally, getting total lengths of lumber and total area of sheet goods, and then determining how many sticks/sheets are needed. I am having a tough time figuring out how to have the worksheet differentiate between 1x and ply - the only way I can think is to have different line types for each type of lumber and then put in different formulas based on the line types. Any ideas? 

Edited by NicoleD

Try creating some new classes with names that are logical your practice, and assign corresponding objects to them. As many or as few as make sense for your projects. Eg lumber-Sheet_ CDX_0.75,  lumber-Sheet_OSB_0.50,  lumber-Stix_2x4, lumber-Stix_2x6, etc. These class definitions can be assigned as worksheet criteria and can have various 2d & 3d attributes for graphic display. Add them to a template file if likely recurring in future projects.

-B

Thanks for that idea, that's what I was thinking was the best idea. However when trying pulling the length/width info for the worksheet, there's no clear concise way to get the total length when the shapes are in different orientations. The only way I found was to just add up what made sense.

Maybe I'm approaching differently, but this is doable if the various geometric objects are not too customized.

For linear lumber (2x4, 2x6, etc) cut at square ends and classed for the nominal dimension, a worksheet can pull values for length (=length) if a piece is represented by an extruded rectangle (eg 1.5"x3.5") extruded to lengths as needed.  Orientation (lean, rotation, etc) of the extrude does not skew the data.  There may also be some smart object data that easily inform worksheets.

If lumber extrude is notched or angle cut, =LENGTH  returns the length of the long edge.