dedicated vs integrated graphic card

Sharon F

I am searching for a new computer as my old laptop is out of date - running VW Landmark 2017. I've done a lot of research on-line, and am looking for clarification on the following:

True or False?

- a gaming laptop with should not be used for CAD programs (as they have different requirements?)'

- a dedicated graphics card is not always necesssary (as I see some people seem to be using integrated grapics cards, sometime with better results?)

-NVIDIA Quadro P series versus GTX graphic cards (GTX seem to be intergrated cards on most PC's I have looked at) 

- the CPU, not the  graphics card is more important for 3D

- the  graphics card relates to rendering speed

I am an independent designer doing primarily residential work.  I dont want to invest $$$$$ in a computer, but also don't want to cut myself short in a new purchase. Prefer PC over MAC as I think better value in a PC, more configuration options. 

any guidance /feedback on questions above would be really appreciated as I seem to be getting bogged down..........

thanks!

• Vectorworks, Inc Employee

- a gaming laptop with should not be used for CAD programs (as they have different requirements?)'

False, for Vectorworks.

- a dedicated graphics card is not always necesssary (as I see some people seem to be using integrated grapics cards, sometime with better results?)

False, for Vectorworks.

-NVIDIA Quadro P series versus GTX graphic cards (GTX seem to be intergrated cards on most PC's I have looked at) 

GTX, we do not take advantage of the additional features offered by Quadro cards.

- the CPU, not the  graphics card is more important for 3D

False, the GPU is now the most important for 3D (as of 2015ish)

Semi True, the graphics card relates to plan, wireframe and OpenGL speed. If you consider OpenGL a render mode, then it does affect render speed. Graphics cards do not affect Renderworks and Hidden Line renderings.