Jump to content

Hello Community!

This Saturday, April 11, from 9am – 1pm EDT we will be performing maintenance on the Vectorworks Community Board. During this time, the site will be unavailable.

  • 2
ThreeDot

Save and Commit

Question

This happens often: 

 

I'm working on a shared project file. I finish my edits, hit command+s to save, then command+q to quit Vectorworks. Then I get this alert: Vectorworks reminds me that I have layers or objects checked out, and they have not been committed. Thanks, but I can't do anything about it! If I hit OK, the file closes and Vectorworks quits. If I hit ESC, the file closes and Vectorworks quits. At this point, there is no way to avoid closing and quitting. If I want to commit changes, I have to re-launch Vectorworks, open the file, save and commit changes, then close and quit. It would be so simple and helpful if this alert allowed a user to save and commit changes on the spot or, at minimum, cancel the operation.

 

Little considerations like this would be incredibly helpful. Little things like this are incredibly frustrating.

 

527110759_ScreenShot2019-01-14at5_42_30PM.thumb.png.c0f8ec5b12602509457ffe46183ff753.png

 

 

Edited by ThreeDot
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Yes, whatever process let this dialogue into the shipping product needs to change.

 

I end up creating a second workspace that maps command+s to save and commit and switch to it (mostly) when working in teams.

Not optimal either due to various reasons.

 

Even worse it's been this way over 2 years.

 

Edited by Matt Overton

Share this post


Link to post
  • 0

I don't even use this feature but the idea that this dialogue box behaves this way drives me crazy.  Especially the idea that it's been this way for two years.  

 

Share this post


Link to post
  • 0

Wow, I had no idea that you pointed this out two years ago!

 

3 hours ago, Matt Overton said:

Even worse it's been this way over 2 years.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
  • 0
19 minutes ago, ThreeDot said:

Wow, I had no idea that you pointed this out two years ago!

 

 

Anything relating to workgroup workflows tends to get lost and forgotten pretty quickly in the forums.

  • Sad 1

Share this post


Link to post

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


 

7150 Riverwood Drive, Columbia, Maryland 21046, USA   |   Contact Us:   410-290-5114

 

© 2018 Vectorworks, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Vectorworks, Inc. is part of the Nemetschek Group.

×
×
  • Create New...