new macbook pro Hardware advice

FabK

Hi,

I am about to buy a new Macbook Pro 15'.  This is my only computer as I travel a lot and carry my work everywhere.

I am a lighting designer and therefore render 3D set models with lighting.

I can afford to boost my expensive new toy only with one feature.  CPU, RAM or Graphic card.

Which on will speed my render the most? 

1- Going from Intel hexacore i7 2.6 Ghz to Intel hexacore i9 2.9 Ghz?

2- Going from 16 Go of RAM to 32 Go of RAM?

3- Going from Radeon Pro 560x 4Go GDDR5 to Radeon Pro Vega 20 4Go HBM2?

Thanks for the advise.

If you render for longer time the i9 won't be faster as the thermal limit and so throttling

is given by the small body and so same for both.

The i9 will help only for short burst loads.

It will not really get faster if you have more RAM than you need. But it will get really slower

when you have less RAM than you need.

And as it is not upgradeable, I would go with 32 MB, which isn't too much for todays or near

future needs.

Seems like the Vega is really faster and worth its money.

Pity it has also only 4 GB VRAM, which isn't that much today.

It will help in OpenGL and Viewport performance (and possible GPU Rendering or Video

encoding in other Apps than VW)

• Like 1

Looking at the same MacBook Pro for my business. The Vega 20 GPU has improved thermals over the previous 560X GPU. See this review. Has a Cine Bench score of over 1100 so its twice as fast as my existing desk monster. This is not a CAD review but does cover Cine Bench scores. The only issue is is expensive machine to cart around. Get a heavy duty backpack.

But, yes,

the Cinebench OpenGL test doesn't seem to be very demanding as my

2070 won't even start to rotate its Fans for it. So not very suitable Benchmark

to compare GPU Hardware power itself.

Slightly similar to the CPU tests. They do force CPU cores to 100% load,

but CPU Power Consumption and Temperatures stay reasonably low.