scale problem with imported file

olgab

Question

Hey, I have tried so many options and nothing solve my problem, so I hope you will be able to help me. I am new to Vectorworks but only this scale\import issue makes me totally lost.

First of all, I got a dwg file which in print is saved to 1:1000 on long A2 paper.

When I am importing it to Vectorworks, and trying to draw borders (property lines), the object info shows it has for example: 2 cm border (where it should be 2km)

Does anyone of you has an idea how shall I import the file to make it works? So when I draw a border it will shows units that are there in "reality"?
Later, the problem is getting more complicated, because when I want to build a land model using stakes and I put the elevation values and render the landform is ridiculously high compared to its x and y values (which are treated as mm)... I would be gratefull for any suggestions, as I can work further wihout this basics.

3 answers to this question

Hi, Olgab - Welcome to the forum!

The following assumes the import occurs in a blank vwx file - no previously created geometry.

Note that typically, additional dwg imports in this vwx file will create a new layer. One new layer for each import.

Also note that it’s risky to import into a project file!  Best practice is to import into a new blank vwx “shuttle file” or import each dwg file into a separate new, blank vwx file.  Get scale, etc. right in the import file, then, if needed, shuttle the imported geometry into the vwx project file via reference or copy/paste.