Skewed 3D Surfaces into Solid?

Hi All,

I'm trying to create a solid from two triangles on skewed planes (screenshot below). I'm relatively new to the freeform modelling side of vwx so I'm hoping theres something obvious I'm missing. Could anybody please advise how to approach this?

As a secondary question, I tried converting both to NURBS curves and lofting but this fails. Can somebody explain to me what the limitations are on lofting that are stopping me from doing this? Is it due to the skewed planes?

1923584741_ScreenShot2018-07-20at12_07_57.thumb.jpg.5f062688616a084720daaccdc6dc92f3.jpg

Thanks in Advance,

A

It's really easy to do.

• Draw the triangles on whatever planes you need
  • Convert to Nurbs curves. (I tend to ungroup the result)
  • Loft Surface tool from the 3D tools set (first mode)
  • Select each triangle in turn
  • Press the Check mark or Return
  • Check the option to Create Solid.

If you have problems with this then it is worth checking that both your triangles have the same direction ((Check mark in the OIP). 

All should be well. Come back if you have any questions.

Screen Shot 2018-07-20 at 12.29.45.png

Edited by markdd
  • Like 2

Oh there are so many ways in VW.

You could just extrude the lower triangle with a bit of extra height

Offset Tool to extend the upper triangle a bit

Extrude this larger upper triangle

and do a Solid Subtraction by cutting the lower extrude by the upper Extrude.

You could extrude the lower triangle with a bit of extra height

use the Taper Face Tool to rotate the top face over the 3 axes to align by

snapping to the corners of the upper triangle as a reference.

to be continued ....

• Like 1
2 hours ago, Asemblance said:

As a secondary question, I tried converting both to NURBS curves and lofting but this fails. Can somebody explain to me what the limitations are on lofting that are stopping me from doing this? Is it due to the skewed planes?