GRID .... Struggling to get any sort of grid to work.

Good Morning all, 

I am new to Vectorworks. Previously a Mac AutoCAD user, Im finding it very difficult to change over. 

My current problem is trying to get a grid to appear. Im working in Vectorworks Architecture and working on large 1:1 scale plans. My design layers will be covering over 1km. Is there any way to get a grid to cover everything. At the moment there is a tiny 840mm x 840mm grey 3x3 grid in the middle of my design layer. When I show the grid and play around with the smart cursor settings, sometimes blue lines will appear in this tiny grid. Thats all I can make it do. 

Please help me. As my new job uses Vectorworks Id love to be able to enjoy using the program but Im finding it very hard to see that happening at the moment. 

Using Vectorworks 2018 on Windows 7, on a Lenovo thinkpad with intel core i5

image.thumb.png.356f31d0f285fecae6ef3dea6c7ef734.png

Edited by twhitwell6

Vectorworks is best when drawing using a Layer Scale. Say your intended output is 1:100, set all your layer scales to 1:100. This will NOT change the geometry in any way apart from how it looks at any particular scale. (This approach is fundamental to using Vectorworks and is often a tricky concept to grasp if you are coming from AutoCAD. However it gives you WYSIWYG functionality from the very beginning of your process.)

Then set your Grid to a what you need. That way, the grid will have a better chance of displaying at a more appropriate resolution as it will only display to the extent of the Page Size. Try that and come back with any questions.

Edited by markdd
  • Like 1

I think you have to make your page size larger irrational km size too.

Grid in 2D has an option (somewhere in snapping or VW settings ?)

to extend over page size settings.

But unfortunately this will not work in 3D views.

So if necessary I also adjust my page size to make it as big as my model.

(Although I do not print at all)