Plug-in objects fail to display properly in 2D plan view

I am currently evaluating Vectorworks 2018 in order to replace my old Vectorworks 9 installation. Long story short, I am not a professional draftsman, I design houses for fun, had an academic license for Vectorworks 9 when I was in college, I prefer the Vectorworks workflow paradigm to the AutoCAD paradigm used by most CAD packages, time flew by, yada, yada, yada. One of the first things I needed to learn with 2018 was converting my old Vectorworks 9 drawings to Vectorworks 2018 drawings. Easy enough. I eventually noticed that plug-in objects, such as doors and windows, were locked; that is, I could not change their parameters as nearly all were disabled. I learned about the Update Plug-in Objects feature. Again, easy enough except one caveat.

When I updated plug-in objects in a converted old drawing I noticed that doors and windows were not properly displaying in 2D plan view. Both object types showed as breaks in their respective walls, but not much else. Windows only showed the jamb and sill/stool, or perhaps just the wall lines, but the framing was not present. Doors only showed the jamb, but the actual door and swing line(s) are not visible. This issue also appears in older drawings that have been converted, but in which I have not updated the existing plug-in objects. When I create new doors or windows in these drawings they initially display these objects as expected, but after working on the drawing for some time they eventually begin to effectively display in the 2D plan view as cased openings as I described previously; the existing doors and windows that have not been updated display fine. Once the issue arises any new door or window added to the drawing improperly displays incorrectly upon insertion into the drawing. Note that in 3D views, all doors and windows have thus far appeared to render as expected.