Jump to content
  • 0
bc

PROJECT SHARING ERROR MESSAGE

Question

We have two people using PS via Google Drive. We are fairly familiar with it and have had some success elsewhere so this might be Google Drive not playing well.

The project was set up with both as admins.  I opened it and did my work and then SACCAR.  The other subsequently opens and makes some changes and SACCAR.

When I open now, after the check out object/layer dialog I get the following message:5ab51c293bf5d_ScreenShot2018-03-21at3_33_49PM.thumb.png.95394ccdb3bc43c3a08ec06df66cc13a.png

When I select no, I can't work on it. When I select yes, I still can't work on it and the file seems to revert to read only.

We have never seen this.  We don't know how to "Reset the Project File".  What does that mean.  Recreate it? I mean, when you dbl-click it thinks you want to work.

So how can I fix this and move on and prevent this from happening?  Neither of us "manually replaced or made copies" of the file. Or is it Google Drive doing that behind our backs?

Any ideas?  Thanks

 

bc

Share this post


Link to post

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

We saw this once as well with a client who was using Google Drive. Once the PS file was fixed, with the surperb help of @Tolu, the Project file was allowed to perform better by being on Dropbox instead (possibly due Dropbox’s LAN sync ability as the users were usually on the same LAN.)

Share this post


Link to post
  • 0

THANKS NEIL,

I guess it best to contact Tech Support.

bc

Share this post


Link to post
  • 0

Is the PF in a Folder on Google Drive? Did you share the Folder? You cannot share the PF directly. Google Drive will make a duplicate if 2 or more users work on the file at the same time.

 

The message is telling you that Vectorworks has detected that the PF was duplicated, renamed, or moved. Essentially, Vectorworks needs the Administrator to decide which of duplicated PFs is the correct version. If the administrator opens the PF (or opens his WF), he will see a similar message with a "Reset" button.

 

Alternatively, you can save the PF as a new PF using the File -> "Save A Copy As" menu command. In the ensuing save dialog, make sure you change the "File Type" pulldown menu to Vectorworks Project File (.vwxp).

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
  • 0

Thanks Tolu,

I believe I was set up as a party with administrator privileges but didn't get the reset button and going over it with the main administrator, he didn't seem to have an issue with the file.

We have killed the Project Sharing on this file for now but will probably resort to your second alternative later.   

I will refer this post to my administrator.

Thanks for the input.

bc

Share this post


Link to post

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


 

7150 Riverwood Drive, Columbia, Maryland 21046, USA   |   Contact Us:   410-290-5114

 

© 2018 Vectorworks, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Vectorworks, Inc. is part of the Nemetschek Group.

×
×
  • Create New...