Developer Wiki and Function Reference Links ×

Vectorscript - ask for variable

greentea

Hi all,

I am somewhat new to vectorscript, but am familiar with some web coding, so I thought I'd try this out.  What I want to do is to make a custom selection of id leaders.  For example, the script below selects only the id leaders with tag text variable='34'.  I'd like to reuse this script but for other tag text variables.  ie, select all id leaders with tag text variable='10' or '25' etc. Can someone tell me where in help I can find out how to edit this script so a dialog box pops up and asks me for tag text variable, and then upon clicking ok, it would go from there?

DSelectAll; SelectObj((INSYMBOL & INVIEWPORT & (PON='ID Leader') & ('ID Leader'.'TagText'='34')));

Thanks in advance!

Edited by greentea

T,

Here's an example of a short script using a pre-defined String Dialog to get you started. Modify to your heart's content.

PROCEDURE abc;
VAR
	default, result :STRING;
BEGIN
	default := '';
	result := StrDialog('Enter Leader text...', default);
	if not DidCancel then begin
		DSelectAll; 
		SelectObj( INSYMBOL & INVIEWPORT & (PON='ID Leader') & ('ID Leader'.'TagText' = result) );
	end;		{ if }
 END;
Run(abc);

It should read fairly straightforward, except for "DidCancel". Consider "DidCancel" as a global variable that is set to TRUE when a user closes a standard dialog box by pressing the OK button, and is set to FALSE when a user presses the CANCEL button. Word of future caution, don't use the word "DidCancel" as one of your variable or procedure names.  ;-O

HTH,

Raymond