Jump to content

Hello Community!

This Saturday, May 30, from 9am – 12pm EDT we will be performing maintenance on the Vectorworks Community Board. During this time, the site will be unavailable.

JYA

Troubleshooting on Project Sharing - The commit operation cannot be performed now because the Project File is in use by another user.

Recommended Posts

Hi!

 

I've got a project set up on Vectorworks Project Sharing.  Currently I am the only user on the project.

When I tried to save and commit my individual file to the main file, I get an error that reads, "The commit operation cannot be performed now because the Project File is in use by another user - You need write access to Project File in order to commit your changes.  However, the Project File is temporarily locked by the operation of another user.  Your operation should succeed if retried in a few seconds." 

 

I have tried to open the main file, then 'close and release' to solve the problem, but the same error message still pops up when I save retry saving and committing my individual file.

 

Can anyone help me work out why this is the case?

 

Thanks for your help in advance!

 

Share this post


Link to post

Don't know the reason for the error, but try saving the file as a regular .vwx file and then re-sharing it. That night solve the issue...temporarily at least.

Share this post


Link to post

Hi JMR,

 

Thanks for the tip, I will do just that.  I guess it isn't perfect, but will solve the issue for now.

 

Thanks again!

Share this post


Link to post

Sigh, I spoke too soon.  Even after breaking off the project sharing, and then re configuring project sharing with the new file, I am still getting the same error message.

 

Really unsure what to do now.

Share this post


Link to post

Where are your files located? The recommendation here was that the working file should be stored locally, and the project file on the server.

 

BTW if you (or anyone else) open the main project file, VW will always create a new working file for you from it. You should only open your working file when you work. Maybe there is some duplication happening that confuses the system?  Accessing the project file under different credentials eg. on an office desktop computer or on a home laptop will create two working files, if the logins are different.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post

We are also having this problem in our office - Right now I am the only person working on the project sharing file, everyone else is out to lunch (and have closed the file). I'm still getting '...cannot be checked out now because the Project File is in use by another user...' - repeatedly in fact.

 

Update: I've tried saving the Working File locally as suggested by @JMR- But still having the same problem

Edited by Asemblance

Share this post


Link to post

We've had the same problem in our office this morning. It's very frustrating. We tried a few different methods to dry and resolve it, listed below, but the only solution we could find was to to do as @JMRsuggested and "Save A Copy As..." a standard .vwx file and re-build the project sharing files from scratch. Particularly frustrating if not all users have committed all their unsaved changes before this issue arrises.

 

Options we've tried that don't work:

  • Delete the working file and try re-creating it by opening the project file
  • Deleting the user from the project sharing dialog and get them to start their own files again
  • Opening the working file and clicking revert int he project sharing menu
  • Saving the working file locally
  • Resetting document preferences in the project sharing dialog box

It feels like there should be something like a "reset/release all current activity and check out all objects" option to repair whatever is becoming corrupt in the project file.

Share this post


Link to post

Time to service pack project sharing, NNA?  It's beta as it is, there is no denying it.

 

I'm getting false alarms about the project file containing information missing from the working file. Again. The working file is just fine.

 

Share this post


Link to post

We are noticing this same issue happening with Vectorworks 2018 and 2019 as well. 

Our workaround was to restart the computer then disconnect and reconnect to the server. 

This seems to work but it's a bit of a hassle.  

Share this post


Link to post

We're also getting this error almost weekly in our office. Only thing we've been able to do is making a new standard file as suggested above. We've had minimal information loss so far, but we're really questioning whether project sharing is worth it given the risk.

Share this post


Link to post

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


 

7150 Riverwood Drive, Columbia, Maryland 21046, USA   |   Contact Us:   410-290-5114

 

© 2018 Vectorworks, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Vectorworks, Inc. is part of the Nemetschek Group.

×
×
  • Create New...