Developer Wiki and Function Reference Links ×

Marionette detail drawing title

Le Pham

I am trying to make a standard frame for our details that can change in width and height and still stay within the grid (1 square, 2 vertical squares, etc.), and allow input such as drawing number, name and scale. You can see it in the attached file what I am up to. I thought that I could do this with Marionette, so this is my first attempt. It worked for the most parts except when I added the line to display scale, it didn’t convert to an object node. My questions:

• What’s wrong with the “scale” line in this example? it stopped running when I put it in a wrapper. 
  • Am I using the right tool? the network seems complicated for something fairly simple. Would this make the file huge and slow down the computer if I have hundreds of them? I hope that it would behave like a symbol. Please advise if you can think of a better way.

Thanks,

Marionette_detail_title.vwx

Weird stuff happening inside a wrapped node.

Your version ran fine here.

In the original version, I had changed the string in the Drawing Scale node to be something that did not require anything to be escaped and it did not run.

I copies the escaped string from your version and pasted it into the original version and the wrapped network ran fine.

I edited the string back to something without escape characters and it still runs fine.

It appears that there is some kind of caching going on that is not always reliable.

Thanks so much, Stephan and Pat for debugging the file. Putting in the escape characters in the wrapper worked great, but the characters also show in the OIP as 1\"=1'-0\" when I converted the wrapper to an object. As soon as I deleted the "\" the object disappeared. (build 393917)

Going back to my second question, do you think there is a better way to make this symbol (not using Marionette)? My concerns are resource intensity and user access to the Marionette script.

Thanks,