Possible to create own parametric object?

NCSMITH

Hello all, 

I'm a newbie to Vectorworks having moved over from other 3D and 2D software. 

I need to model some custom picture frames- I have worked out how to do this using the profile along a path tool. 

However, what I would like to know is: is it then possible to make this profile/path object parametric so that we can copy/paste it for different size pictures and then input the size frame we need? To make a new path for every picture would be very time consuming!

any tips much appreciated :)

N

On 9/27/2017 at 3:48 PM, NCSMITH said:

However, what I would like to know is: is it then possible to make this profile/path object parametric so that we can copy/paste it for different size pictures and then input the size frame we need? To make a new path for every picture would be very time consuming!

:)

Picture frames should be reasonably easy with VectorScript because they are planar and generally rectangular;  non-planar objects are useless as the profile twists and turns. However, choosing the profile is the main issue. Plain rectangles are easy, but using custom profiles stored as symbols may not be. If you are happy to type the profile symbol name, fine, but if instead you want to have a dialog to choose one , you are in trouble. In my scripts for such purposes the script goes to the symbol definition and tries to find an object in the specified class (called, surprisingly, profile) and uses that. 

Edited by Urbanist
Clarification
22 hours ago, Urbanist said:

Picture frames should be reasonably easy with VectorScript because they are planar and generally rectangular

I guess I tried to shoot before loading and aiming.