Drawing 2d shapes to 3d extrusions

Ellen 7

Hi all, 

I'm a relative beginner in Vectorworks, and after drawing several 2d drawings/ modifications, this is my first model in 3d. I've extruded several objects from the ground plane, and I would now like to cut through the extrusions by drawing simple shapes on the face then push/pull and subtract the solids. However, the 2d drawing instantly snaps to the ground plane/ or the working plane, rather than the object itself. The object snap doesn't change this, and I've resorted to setting working planes on every surface, but I'll bet there is faster way to bypass the planes and snap to the objects (all the object snap option are on in the smartsursor settings, but doesn't snap to 3d object)

This sounds like such a simple problem but I have tried numerous snapping/ preferences settings and haven't fixed the problem. Any advice would be most appreciated!

You need to go from Layer Plane, forcing to draw everything on XY Plane, to Automatic Plane.

The Shortcut to switch Automatic Plane on/off should be "#"

(german keyboard here)

or by dropdown in top tool bar.

As Mike said, it is worth to examine the help files for that and there should be illustrative Videos.

If activated you can draw 2D geometry directly on your 3D Geometrie's Faces.

After completion the 2D Face gets marked in red and by pressing "ALT" you can Push/Pull the

surface in, to subtract or out, to add.

But you have to try a few times as there is a strange timing when you have to press "ALT" and when not :)

There are also Videos that try to explain that.

If you missed the red marking and its Push/Pull option,

you can also do it later by using the Push Pull Tool, I think its the 3rd Mode needed.

Edited by zoomer