POLYGONAL ARCHITECTURE HOW TO?

fxallaire

Hi, I'm a interior designer and want to achieve Polygonal Architectural walls in my current retail project. I have never used Vectorworks but I heard it would be the best software for the job.

apartment_in_moscow_by_m17_dezeen_1568_4

apartment_in_moscow_by_m17_dezeen_1568_6

apartment_in_moscow_by_m17_dezeen_1568_1

Apartment_Structure_in_3_D_Design_by_M17

Dashing_20_meter_Polygonal_Wall_Panel_fr

90_best_of_milan_design_week_2014_by_yat

I have sketches of what I want to achieve but now it's time to build and I would like to create a 3D concept and export 2D plans for the woodwork. 

Can someone point out to me where to start...

Thanks, FX

I did similar a while ago.

I think I started with a 2D rectangle,

made a lot of cuts in different angles for the resulting edges,

converted all to a Mesh,

rotated the Mesh from Floor Plan to Wall direction,

pulled vertices in and out until it looked like it should.

-> Thicken Tool

I think today (VW 2017) I would use Sub Division Tool,

convert my 2D Geometry to SubD and set Edge Weight 100% to all vertices.

13 hours ago, Christian Fekete said:

Interesting design, I am not sure how to do that in vectorworks. I personally would do it in Sketchup but maybe the new division option of VW would be fine.

Good luck

Why would you prefer Sketchup for this job exactly? To be honnest I never used sketchup either...

Which one should I commit to learn??

FX

It all comes down to what you are used to using. Sk....up I don't use much but can do amazing things with Vectorworks.

If you are after those shapes its easy to convert to mesh and get the triangles to build from.

Sk....up you could probably do the same.

Mesh.JPG

Capture.JPG

Capture.JPG

Capture-0.JPG

Capture.JPG

Edited by Alan Woodwell