Wall Opening, Best Practices

brettSF

I'm very new to Vectorworks, and trying to implement best practices as I go. I have a lot of questions and will try to separate/group them as necessary.

I have two different types of wall openings that in concept are the same, but from a best practice standpoint may have different answers. Relevant images can be found here:

http://imgur.com/a/ZxtYK

The first opening type is a frameless sidelight for a door. This was accomplished by creating a Window and eliminating the sash and jamb. The second is simply a Door set as an Opening.

The two questions I have related to this instance are:

1. Is it possible to graphically have the wall finish material appear as an End Cap at either opening? Obviously you wouldn't have exposed framing... In my mind, possible solutions include:

• Give both the Opening and the Window a 5/8" thick Jamb and assign the relevant hatch
  • Create one 8' tall Wall that starts and stops at the openings (and in the instance of the window, model it in as a 3D object) and then draw a second wall from 8' up to the ceiling.

2. Is it possible to resize an Opening or Window by dragging? This would be helpful in an instance where the opening needs to align with certain things, rather than being a measurable distance.

After some additional experimenting:

Adding a jamb for the Window doesn't work because you cannot selectively eliminate the jamb on the door side or at the floor. As for the opening, I find that adding the jamb graphically accomplishes what I'm looking for.

Window question still stands!

First,

you can set Caps on Walls by start, end, both, non - in wall dialogs as needed.

For openings in Walls created by doors and windows, you will set these Cap

settings in doors or windows settings.

If I want a Wall opening but no visible door/window I simply use a "Wall Recess"

but don't think that will control the Caps ?

For Doors and Windows there is a setting to have "opening only", so no need to