Solids addition or subtraction with Push/Pull tool?

Hi,

I am just getting into solids operations and the VW help seems to indicate you can use the Push/Pull tool the add or subtract from a solid using a 2D planer object drawn on the face of the 3D solids object.

I have exhausted all possibilities on this, and the only thing I get when pushing or pulling is a separate extrude object, never an addition or subtraction. This is the case whether or not I hold the option (alt) key before the end of the operation.

I know how to subtract solids using the menu command, or using the new automatic planes and Push/Pull mode of the 2D object tools, but not using the Push/Pull TOOL.

The VW Help clearly says:

"The Push/Pull tool interactively reshapes planar geometry, creating bosses (protrusions) or cutouts on solids by adding or subtracting volume from a solid."

Can anyone enlighten me on how to create a "cutout" from a solid object using the push/pull tool?

• 3 weeks later...

O.K.,

I finally figured it out. You are right in part Nicholas. You do have to be in the sub-face mode of the Push/Pull tool, but the rest of it is just as important.

Once you are in the sub-face mode, you have to first select the planar face you will be doing the subtraction with, then you must also select the 3D object you are doing the subtraction from. With both objects selected, now if you click on the planar object and hold down the option(alt) key and push in, you will get a subtraction.

So to do an addition or subtraction from a 3D Object with a planar object drawn on the face of the object using the push/pull tool, you "simply":

1. Put your 3D object in a 3D view

2. Set the Plane mode to Automatic

3. Draw your planar object on the face of the 3D object (I drew a circle)

4. Activate the Push/Pull tool

5. Choose the sub-face mode in the mode bar

6. Select your planar object

7. Select your 3D object

8. Highlight and click-hold on your planar object