IFC archicad to vectorworks not importing walls

Hi, I'm new to Vectorworks after a few years hiatus.

I've been using Archicad for a while and have used IFC to communicate successfully between archicad and Revit. I just started at a Vectorworks office and want to translate an Archicad project into Vectorworks. I can import the IFC model into VW but it won't keep walls as walls or doors as doors, it turns them all into "ifcelements" which is useless. Does anyone have any suggestions for how to keep the elements the same as IFC is intended to be used?

thanks

I mentioned this before but I guess no one paid attention.

@WickedPissa,

Contrary to what NemV would like us to think, Vectorworks is NOT a BIM software. It's a CAD software like AutoCAD, just with a little BIM tools. It's a software with No BIM intelligence however it's being forced to act like BIM software. AutoDesk tried to make AutoCAD work like BIM with "AutoCAD Architecture" but it didn't take off therefore they bought Revit, a true BIM application from the ground up. The heart of Vectorworks is based on simple CAD principles with no understanding of BIM and with some clever coding from the engineers at NemV, it's made to look like a BIM software. I doubt it will ever understand BIM elements from other software.

I can import the IFC model into VW but it won't keep walls as walls or doors as doors, it turns them all into "ifcelements" which is useless.

Though this is ultimately what we would like, but in defense of VWs, it is actually not part of the IFC concept, ArchiCAD have incorporated it as an 'extra' feature (though in my experience it is far from perfect as yet (don't know bout Revit)).

The fact that you can import it and that it is classed as an IFC wall element is all that is required according to IFC directives.

Contrary to what NemV would like us to think, Vectorworks is NOT a BIM software.