Vectorworks Architect 2010 Vs. Revit Architecture

ERK

Hi

I am hoping there is someone on here with experience in both the VW Architect and Revit Architecture software, that can help me make a decision on which to purchase and build a business with.

A little about me: I work in the stone and tile industry, here in SF, and deal with mainly high end custom builds. Recently I took a Revit Fundamentals course (a 3-day bootcamp), that went over the basics of using Revit. I have zero CAD experience, but have the build knowledge of what I need shown in my drawings, which will be used for design intent, shop drawings and submittals. Revit seemed easy to pick up in regards to the topics covered, but when I called the support line to get some insight on how to do some of the things I need, it seems there is a whole side to Revit that is not covered in the class.

I like the fact that you can change an item on one sheet, and it is automatically reflected on all the sheets, does VW do this as well? Creating elevations and sections is extremely easy and automatic, which I liked. The program seems to organize all your sheets on its own, which is great for a novice user like myself.

Here's the problem, I called the teacher that headed up the class I took and asked a few questions (BTW great that I think its great that I can contact someone for help). I basically told him that the environment that I work in is based off of the actual site conditions, not assumptions, where nothing is perfectly square, plumb or level and this needs to be reflected in my drawings since they are for the actual build. I also mentioned that, although the "out of the box" items are great, I would need to be able to create and alter the "families". This led into what seemed like a lengthy process.

Here are some examples of what I will need to do on a regular basis.